Connect with us


Seven All-Star awards for Kerry’s All-Ireland heroes



by Adam Moynihan

Seven members of the Kerry senior football team will be picking up prestigious awards in Dublin on Friday evening following the official announcement of the 2022 PwC All-Star Football team.

After their heroic performances helped Kerry to a long-awaited All-Ireland title in July, the following players have been acknowledged: goalkeeper Shane Ryan, defenders Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley and Gavin White, and forwards Paudie Clifford, Seán O'Shea and David Clifford.

The younger Clifford will be collecting his fourth All-Star award in five years at this level. The Fossa native will also be hoping to take home the coveted Footballer of the Year prize, although he is facing stiff competition in the form of Galway pair Shane Walsh and Cillian McDaid.

Older brother Paudie has earned his second All-Star in just his third year with Kerry, and semi-final hero Seán O'Shea of Kenmare is also picking up his second award.

Rathmore man Shane Ryan, Jason Foley of Ballydonoghue, Tadhg Morley of Templenoe and Gavin White of Dr Crokes are first-time winners.

Remarkably, Morley's award brings Templenoe's overall tally to 14, making them the fifth most successful club in the country in terms of football All-Stars.

White, who made an unexpected return for the All-Ireland final having picked up a bad injury against Dublin in the semi, joins Connie Murphy and Colm Cooper as Dr Crokes players who have won the award.

The 2022 team is comprised of seven players from Kerry, five from runners-up Galway, two from Derry and one from Dublin.

All-Star team in full:

1. Shane Ryan (Kerry)

2. Chrissy McKaigue (Derry)

3. Jason Foley (Kerry)

4. Liam Silke (Galway)

5. Tadhg Morley (Kerry)

6. John Daly (Galway)

7. Gavin White (Kerry)

8. Conor Glass (Derry)

9. Cillian McDaid (Galway)

10. Paudie Clifford (Kerry)

11. Seán O'Shea (Kerry)

12. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)

14. Damien Comer (Galway)

15. Shane Walsh (Galway)

Continue Reading


Killarney man Maye pockets national pool title



Local lad Matthew Maye was the standout Kerry performer at the recent All-Ireland Pool Championships, which were staged at the INEC in Killarney.

Maye navigated a competitive field at the U23 grade to reach the final, but his All-Ireland hopes appeared to be slipping away when he trailed European finalist Aaron Doherty of Cork by two frames to six. The Killarney player battled back impressively, however, and he eventually prevailed 7-6 to clinch the title.

Matthew is still only 21 years of age and last year he won the All-Ireland Junior Championship. Following his latest victory he has now shown himself to be one of the top players in the country for his age.

Another Kerry Pool Association representative, Darragh Breen, had a great run by making it to both the All-Ireland Junior final and the U18 Singles final. With 410 competitors in the junior section, reaching the final was an outstanding achievement. Darragh has put in a huge amount of time and dedication to the game in the last couple of years and he is now reaping the reward of that work.

Over 800 participants from 27 counties took part in this year’s championships. Kerry had 36 players in total – more than they ever had before – with one team in the intermediate section and two teams in the junior section.

Kerry also had two Over 50 teams and an U23 side.


Continue Reading


Cup glory on the double for Killarney Celtic



There was cause for celebration on the double for Killarney Celtic last Sunday as both their youths and senior teams captured silverware in Tralee.

The youths enjoyed a comprehensive victory over Killorglin in the Premier A league final with Eoghan Crowley (two), Dara O’Shea, Jason O’Sullivan and Cathal Kelly all finding the target in a 5-1 win at Mounthawk Park.

A little later at the same ground, the club’s senior team had a resounding win against Tralee Dynamos in the final of the League Cup. A 21st-minute rocket from the boot of Wayne Sparling sent Celtic on their way and further strikes by Witness Odirile and Cathal O’Shea (penalty) helped secure a 3-0 win. Veteran captain John McDonagh accepted the trophy on behalf of his teammates.

Celtic can now look forward to their Greyhound Bar KO Cup final on Sunday. They will take on the same team at the same venue at 6pm.

Their attention will then turn to a mouthwatering Premier A league final against crosstown rivals Killarney Athletic. That match has been fixed for Friday, June 2 at 7.30pm.


Continue Reading