Connect with us


Currow named KABB Club of the Year



SUCCESS: St Bridget’s Basketball Club are to be awarded the prestigious KABB Club of the Year 2020. Pictured are: St Bridget's U16 girls Kerry finalists 2020 including coach Aaron Fleming, Megan Dennehy, Danielle Moriarty, Hilary O'Connor and Emma Buckley. From front: Fiona Brosnan, Cara Fleming, Mia Keye and Aoife Fleming.


A small basketball club with a big heart, located in the picturesque village of Currow, are celebrating a phenomenal year.

This week the Kerry Area Basketball Board (KABB) announced that St Bridget’s Basketball Club are to be awarded the prestigious KABB Club of the Year 2020.

“The club were unanimously selected by the board having enjoyed a successful Juvenile and Senior season," David Ahern, Executive Secretary of the Kerry Area Basketball Board, said.

"We wish to congratulate the officers and the club on the award."

The club currently caters for more than 130 players ranging in age from U10 to senior grade with ambitious plans to establish a basketball academy for players as young as six years of age.

“This is a major honour for our club but in particular for our hardworking coaches, parents and wonderful team of volunteers who work tirelessly to ensure our young players have a sporting and social outlet that teaches them so many valuable traits ensuring they become caring and socially conscious adults. Our young players are a credit to our community and achieving the KABB Club of the Year is testimony to this,” Con Dennehy, Chairman of St Bridget’s Basketball Club, said.

St Bridget’s was established in 1989 as an additional sporting club in the parish. Over the years the club won numerous Kerry, Munster and All-Ireland Community Games titles in addition to KABB titles. A number of players including Liam Brosnan, Maura Brosnan, Denis Walsh, Maeve Galway and David Cronin have been selected on Irish underage teams.

The 2019/2020 season has been a very successful period for the club with success in a number of competitions prior to the COVID-19 sporting restrictions.

There was further good news for St Bridget's with the announcement that Denise Walsh Lyons won the Division 2 Player of the Year award and local primary school teacher and coach Seamus Brosnan, who plays for St Mary's, won the Division 1 Player of the Year.



Muckross Rowing Club members on Irish teams for two major regattas

  Six members of Muckross Rowing Club will compete for Ireland in two upcoming international events. Rowing Ireland this week announced the Irish squads for the Coupe de la Jeunesse […]





Six members of Muckross Rowing Club will compete for Ireland in two upcoming international events.

Rowing Ireland this week announced the Irish squads for the Coupe de la Jeunesse Regatta.

Daniel Fleming and Ian Coffey have both been selected for the Under 19 Irish squad to race at the Coupe de la Jeunesse Regatta for European junior rowers. The Coupe de la Jeunesse Regatta, involving 16 European countries, will be held over from over three days, August 9-11 in Racice, Czechia.

Four Under 23 university rowers from the Muckross club have also been selected as part of the Senior Irish squad for the Home International Regatta this month.

Niamh Coffey (University of Limerick), Patrick Buckley (University of Limerick), Finn O’Sullivan (University of Limerick) and Ethan O’Neill (University College Cork Rowing Club) will take on the ‘Triple Crown’ event of rowing, competing for Ireland against crews from England, Scotland and Wales.

The Home International Regatta will be held on Saturday, July 27 in Strathclyde, Scotland.

All six Muckross rowers have earned their green jerseys following a lengthy and testing trial series on land and water which began in Autumn 2023 and culminated in final water trials at the end of June.

“Muckross Rowing Club sends its best wishes to the very talented Muckross oarsmen and women and all their crewmates as they fly the flag for Ireland this summer. The talented group build on a successful record in the sport,” said club PRO Tim O’Shea.

Niamh Coffey is a multiple Irish and University Championship winner and has previously represented Ireland in the Under 23 European Championships.

In 2022, O’Neill rowed at Junior level at the Home International event and won a gold medal as part of the Irish quadruple scull crew in the 500m sprint event.

Both Buckley and O’Sullivan continue to compete at the highest level nationally with the University of Limerick Rowing Club,  and join the Irish squad for the first time this year.

The international selections come at an exciting time before the Olympic Regatta in Paris, where Zoe Hyde (Tralee Rowing Club) will be among the largest Irish rowing contingent of 16 rowers to contest an Olympic Games.

Killorglin native Zoe has previously rowed for both Killorglin and Muckross rowing clubs and will race the Women’s Double event for Ireland with Alison Bergin (Fermoy Rowing Club) in Paris.


Continue Reading


Valuable role of Kerry cancer support charity recognised nationally



Cancer support charity Recovery Haven Kerry has been recognised for its vital role in supporting cancer patients and their families at a national ceremony in Dublin.

The renowned cancer support house was one of 16 such centres across Ireland that were presented with plaques to acknowledge their full membership of the National Cancer Control Programme (NCCP) Alliance – a group made up of voluntary and charity organisations delivering support services directly to cancer patients and their families. An additional 10 associate member charities were also honoured, including Kerry Cancer Support Group.

The Alliance advocates for, and supports, the development of integrated pathways between the cancer centres, acute hospitals, community cancer support services and primary care services. All members’ development is in line with the values of Sláintecare, seeking to provide assurance to healthcare professionals that these organisations are working to an agreed standard as set out in Best Practice Guidance published by the NCCP. 

Speaking after the ceremony, which was held at Dublin’s Farmleigh Estate, Recovery Haven Kerry Chairman, Tim McSwiney, explained that being compliant with the Best Practice Guidance for Community Cancer Support Centres is a true mark of quality. 

“It offers us a yardstick to measure what we are doing against the standards required. As a result, healthcare professionals have more confidence in referring people to our services. We are very proud to be a member of the Alliance,” he said.

Recovery Haven Kerry was represented at the event by centre manager, Gemma Fort and Client Services Co-Ordinator, Siobhan MacSweeney and were presented with their plaque by NCCP Lead for Cancer Survivorship, Louise Mullen, Clinical Lead for Psycho-Oncology Dr Helen Greally, and Minister of State at the Department of Health, Colm Burke. 

The event was also used as an opportunity to announce funding of €3m for the NCCP’s Alliance of Community Cancer Support Centres and Services through Budget 2024. The NCCP is currently in the process of distributing these funds which will directly and positively impact the delivery of services for patients and families nationally.

Continue Reading

Last News